top of page

To Be Read Pile

Hi guys! Today I thought I would share with you my TBR (To Be Read) pile of books I've got on my bookshelf just waiting to be devoured. Working in a bookstore is no good for my bank balance but it is good for those of you that are interested in new releases and reading book reviews! In this blog post I will talk about my TBR pile and my first impressions of these books from the blurb, or what I've heard about them from other people. I will then write a "wrap up" blog post where I write my full review and thoughts on the books to help you decide whether you want to read them or not.

 

BOOK 1: The Woman in the Window by A.J Finn "I know what I saw.. It's been 10 long months since Anna Fox last left her home. 10 months during which she has haunted the rooms of her old New York house like a ghost, too terrified to go outside. When the Russell's move in, Anna is instantly drawn to them. A picture perfect family of three they are an echo of the life that was once hers, but one evening a frenzied scream rips across the silence and Anna witnesses something no-one was supposed to see. Now she must do everything she can to uncover the truth. But even if she does, will anyone believe her?" First Impressions: I went to the Harper Collins Roadshow through Paper Plus where I work, at the roadshow Harper Collins talks about new releases and books they are excited about which are coming in the next year or so. When I first heard about this book I sighed and said to my co-worker next to me, it sounds exactly like the plot for Girl on The Train... Although an intriguing premise this plot is nothing we haven't seen before. I am very interested to see how well A.J Finn transforms such a (in my humble opinion) overdone story line for a thriller into something exciting and new.

 

Book 2: How to Stop Time by Matt Haig " I am old, that is the first thing to tell you. The thing you are least likely to believe. If you saw me you would probably think I was about forty, but you would be very wrong." First Impressions: This small quote on the back of the book is all it took for me to instantly want to buy it so I could dive right in. Compared to the usual 2-3 small paragraphs you usually see on the back of a book, this does not tell you hardly anything about the plot or any of the characters but I think this was an extremely smart move on behalf of the publishers. It intrigued me enough that I instantly opened the book and started reading, I feel sometimes when you are browsing bookstores if books tell you too much about the plot on the back cover I don't bother to open it and put it back on the shelf. The back cover should fill you with anticipation of falling into a story and make you excited, and that is exactly how I feel about this book. I only hope it lives up to the hype I've now placed on it. (whoops)

 

Book 3: Lost for Words by Stephanie Butland "Loveday Cardew prefers books to people, if you look carefully you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin, but there are some things Loveday will never show you. Into her refuge-The York Book Emporium where she works- comes a poet, a lover, friend and three mysterious deliveries, each of which stirs unsettling memories. Everything is about to change for Loveday. Someone knows about her past and she can't hide any longer. She must decide who around her she can trust. Can she find the courage to right a heartbreaking wrong? And will she ever find the words to tell her own story? First Impressions: Loved the first line of the blurb- "Loveday Cardew prefers books to people" relatable anyone? I love the premise of this book; a love story, books and little bit of heartbreak thrown in are all my favourite things to read about. This book has a huge font which makes me feel like it's going to be a very "easy reading, summer holiday" type literature. I could be proven wrong about the easy going-ness of this book as the quotes from readers on the back of the book say it's an "exquisite story" "an absolute stunner" and a "quirky rare and beautiful novel" It sounds like such a good story so I'm ready to dive deep into this one.

 

Book 4: Nothing Bad Happens Here by Nicki Crutchley "The body of missing tourist Bethany Haliwell is found in the small Coromandel town of Castle Bay, where nothing bad ever happens. News crews and journalists from all over the country descend onto the small seaside town as old secrets are dragged up and gossip is taken as gospel. Among them is Miller Hatcher, a journalist battling her own demons who arrives intent on getting a promotion by covering the grisly murder. Following an anonymous tip, Miller begins to unravel the mystery of the small town, and when another woman goes missing, Miller finds herself getting closer to the truth.. but at what cost? First Impressions: This is such an exciting new launch for me, because its by a lovely local lady from Cambridge and I'm all about supporting and building up budding New Zealand writers, and getting to meet her in person through Paper Plus was so exciting because you could see how passionate she was about her book, and how much work she went through to get it self published. I started this book as soon as it got into my hands and it's written beautifully. The words flow off the page and create such a vivid image in your head of the gorgeous NZ bush she is describing, and the description of the local people feels so familiar. It's also just so exciting to read about New Zealand places and people, we don't get it very often so it's nice to read something familiar once in a while. So excited for this one guys!

Happy Reading. I look forward to writing reviews on all these books and updating you on my thought. Hayley x

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page